So You Think I am Stubborn


 [Now I finally understand. ]

coat_of_arms coatofarms_sheld_big

Strangers sometimes think that I can be stubborn.  The people that know me well have frequently compared me to Don Quixote of La Mancha for my penchant of attempting to undo wrongs and bring justice to the world.

I will confess that this perception of stubbornness may have resulted from my frequent attacks on wind mills and various sacred cows that I deemed to be dragons.

 

Of course, Don Quixote was a fictional character created by Miguel de Cervantes and like Don Quixote, my ongoing adventures have had me encounter many real or perceived foes.  But, all along the way our mutual quest has been the pursuit of justice.

The comparison to Don Quixote has at least one more wothy comparison.  I secretly carry a vision of a Venessa Williams type maiden in my mind’s eye.  She will be my Dulcinea when our paths eventually cross again. And, with that in mind, I had laughed off the comparisons to Cerventes mythical man from La Mancha.

Reality floored me a few days ago as I came to understand the probably origins of my own principled stubbornness.  It seems that lost in the piles of family history and genealogical family research brought news that there is a much more likely source of my uncanny knack of getting involved in lost causes.

Those family roots led to Orleans (France).

 Years ago, I visited the family crypt in France whereupon I learned of an ancestor named Jacques le Fournier who would happened to be a direct ancestor of the first of the European side (Guillaume Fournier) of the family to arrive in New France around 1640.

I later learned that Jacques Fournier was (sort of nobility in ancient France – who wasn’t?) .  Jacques Fournier was Sieur de Villamblay, Baron of Tournebu.  The coat of arms that Joan of Arc (Jeanne d’Arc du Lys) carried into battle was adorned with the same lilies as had been granted to Fournier by King Charles to identify Tournebu.   Jeanne d’Arc du Lys was the child of Cevalier Pierre d’Arc and Jeanne le Fournier .  Thus, Joan’s mother was the child of Jacque’s eldest child and the granddaughter of Jaques.

I also learned that on August 13, 1944 Tournebu was the site of a fierce battle when Canadian troops with the Calgary Highlanders seized a key bridgehead crossing the Liaze River there.   The battle at Tournebu lasted over a full day as huge numbers of German troops failed to dislodge the Canadian troops. The bridgehead would become critical to the final allied push into Nazi Germany.

Friends, please put up with my sometimes bouts of stubbornness. It may well be DNA.

Copyright   Thunderbird Rising 2015

 The above article is copyrighted.  You may use, copy or distribute this article conditional on attributing your source (Thunderbird Rising) and the author (Lloyd Fournier)

Published by: lloydfournier

Lloyd is the founder of Thunderbird Rising (Thunderbird rising.com) and the recent recipient of a Humanitarian Award, an author (novels) and a freelance writer. His drill down style of writing is a throw back to classic journalism - completely objective and well researched. His work presents the reader opportunity to rethink issues.

Categories Canadian Politics, Human Rights, Society1 Comment

One thought on “So You Think I am Stubborn”

Leave a Reply

